On Why I Run:

I recently signed up for my first half marathon. (Yikes!) After toying with the idea for awhile, and turning down a friend who asked me to run a full marathon with her, I decided to take the plunge and sign up for a race this coming October. Thankfully, I’ve been running again for awhile, but I officially started my training plan this morning. 

Over the next 10 weeks, I will run 195.1 miles in preparation for this race. And then I will kick this race’s ass. While I may be occasionally updating about my runs and my mileage, please don’t expect this to turn into a fitness blog. I’m still primarily focused on my studies, and school will be starting back up next month, with a ton of interesting stories to follow (one can only assume). 

For now, I leave you with some of the reasons I run:

-It’s a huge stress-reliever. 
-When I sit in front of a computer all day, it feels amazing to just move.
It’s a great time to just think.
-It gives me an incredible sense of accomplishment.
-After taking three years of high school cross-country and track to finish a 5K in under 30 minutes, it feels great to think about actually running a race that’s 13.1 miles long. And being completely capable of it. 

Leave a comment